Moving On…

Well, life keeps marching along. whether we choose to march along beside it or not, we will eventually have to catch up. I grew up with parents that were hoarders. Hoarders to the extreme like in the show. I can’t even watch that show. It’s too much for me to watch. My mom hoarded things inside the house and my dad outside. It had become normal to walk sideways down the hallway to get to the bathroom. And then when both had passed away and we had to clean? We seriously didn’t know if it was a family heirloom or a found item. it was very sad. Now, you’d think I would move seriously to the opposite spectrum and toss everything, but no. I appear to have a diluted form of the gene as my siblings do as well. All of us in varying degrees, but in our own ways. I am horrified by it and wish it weren’t so, but alas as I look on the pile of stuff in our three, yes THREE garages and a storage unit, I am taken aback.

I have put off dealing with the unsavory dealings of garage sales and craigslist for nearly six months and now, I am forced to do so as we will be moving in two weeks. People want everything for nothing and in pristine condition. I have a hard time letting go of memories and am forced into decisions because we can only bring one truck and we’ll be lucky to fit just our furniture on it alone. Tomorrow we celebrate our 28th anniversary and have had four kids. That’s a lot of stuff over 28 years. I inherited boxes of stuff from my mom as well and the decisions have to be made on what to part with and it’s very, very emotionally hard.

I am glad for the moment I am on Phase 3 in my diet. It pretty much ends as we are physically moving. I have not made a decision on my next Phase 2 plans yet. It will likely be wise to wait a bit and settle in and unpack first. I think my body has had enough stress while dieting lately. I am currently a pound under LDW and happy it finally dipped for a little elbow room.

So, I thought I would just hop on in and do an update. I signed escrow papers yesterday and things are slowly moving along. Lots and lots of sorting, listing ads and pricing. A second moving sale is tomorrow and the appliance repair guy is coming tomorrow as well. If I waited to “feel” like doing this, I would procrastinate and never do it. Sometimes you just need to suck it up and do it and let your feelings catch up with you. Not pleasant, but true.

My update is pretty uneventful in words, but trust me, it’s a crazy mess here. As I leave, I will show a pretty nice picture I took on Blue Friday (when Seahawks fans wear their Seahawks gear on Fridays before a game) over 25 pounds ago. I don’t take good pictures often, so I like this a lot.  Happy Friday all and happy releases!

1530428_10204833754783629_8385315473530859722_n

Leave a Reply

